thomas11

2007-11-08

Status Update

Filed under: life — Tags: , , , , — thomas11 @ 00:11

Hey fellow readers – I hope you are still there after the long blogging delay. It’s high time to give you an update on my current situation.

I graduated recently, and now it’s final what my next station is: I’ll be working as a freelance developer and architect on an application for the University of Heidelberg. The project itself, however, runs under the umbrella of my old university in Karlsruhe, and I’ll be working in an office there .

The goal of the project is to develop a web-based application to both support the creation of an etymological dictionary, and make it available online as soon as there’s a reasonable amount of finished content. The application is for the DEAF group in Heidelberg, who create a dictionary of medieval French (DEAF = Dictionnaire étymologique de l’ancien français), with great expertise and attention to detail, which has made them one of the most renowned groups in this field internationally.

For myself, this allows me to really get into modern web application development and try out several exciting technologies such as Wicket (most likely) and Hibernate, while working with very nice and dedicated people.

I’m also living in Karlsruhe again, in a very cool flat together with a former fellow student and, of course, Susi the cat. Update your address books: Leopoldstr. 20, 76133 Karlsruhe.

2 Comments

  1. Hey Thomas,

    hab grad mich grad mal wieder durch deinen Blog geklickt und mich dabei wie bei einer Zeitreise gefühlt. Ich weiß noch, wie ich in Deutschland vorm Computer gesessen habe und vor Nervosität ganz zittrig, mir die Zeit bis zum Tag meiner Abreise damit vertrieben habe, insbesondere deinen Blog, in mich aufzusaugen.

    Jetzt hab ich schon ein paar Sachen in Indien gesehen und mich eingelebt und erlebe mit meinem Kommilitonen Florian und meiner Reisegefährtin Marieke, wie andere Neulinge über Kleinigkeiten staunen und sich freuen können. Erstaunlich, man denkt, man sieht sich selbst, wie man gerade in Kolkata ankommt.

    Nochmals vielen Dank für deinen Blog (besser als “Kulturschock Indien”) und deine Kommentare auf meinem Blog!

    Comment by Paul — 2007-11-26 @ 12:35

  2. Hey Paul,

    vielen Dank! Sowas zu lesen hat mich sehr gefreut.

    Mir ging es ganz genau wie dir: erst die Vorfreude. Dann die Nervosität und Angst. Dann die Eingewöhnung, und die Normalität. Und das Schmunzeln über die “Neuen”!

    Ich wünsch dir noch viel Spaß und viele tolle Erfahrungen, auch wenn sich manche erst im Nachhinein als toll herausstellen, in Indien.

    Comment by thomas11 — 2007-11-26 @ 21:23


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

